How Risky is Your Brand?

This week I am going to write about the risk that comes along with putting your brand on social media. I happen to work in an industry where we have to be extremely careful with our social media. I work for a non-profit that many people disagree with. There are opposition groups that are constantly trying to figure out who works for the company and then use this information to send materials opposing the company’s mission and vision. In the past groups have used these tactics to send materials directly to employe’s houses. In addition, they have used social media to find employees and then post their personal information on websites to get more people to go after the employees. 

Personally, I believe everyone has a right to their own beliefs and opinions, but I do not think that gives anyone the right to attack another person for their beliefs in any way shape or form. However we do not live in a perfect world so it is best to be cognizant of putting your brand on social media. 

My company is very active on Twitter and Facebook. Although we have a lot of opposition groups there is even more people out there who fully support our mission and vision and they like to interact with us as much as possible. We are fortunate enough to have the support and attention of many teens and college students. This keeps our brand very active on social media sites. 

In order to keep employees and supporters safe we ask that any incident that seems suspicious be reported back to the organization. That way we can look for trends and gauge the seriousness of the comments. For the most part not much happens that is alarming and people feel safe to engage with us on social media. 

4 thoughts on “How Risky is Your Brand?

  1. Very interesting post. Throughout this class I’ve read about companies that try to bring a very “human” approach to their social media interactions, to let customers see the real people behind the postings. For instance, one company I researched has several employees who run the Twitter page and will give their name after each tweet, such as “posted by KatyJ.” But your example is interesting because in a way this is almost the opposite of what you want. Someone with bad intentions could potentially figure out who “KatyJ” is and use it against her. Your example makes me think of SM interactions in a different way. Does your company have some type of social media policy, and if so how detailed is it?

  2. I think our company takes a human approach to our social media sites. Although the tweets and the posts come from a company handle, and not an individual’s handle, the information that is put out is engaging and personal. We do have a social media policy as well. It basically covers the Dos and Donts and just asks people to be aware of what they are posting. With that said we do not shy away from promoting our work and displaying photos and retweeting comments made about the organization. The content depends on the individual. Some people are okay with complete disclosure about where they work. I pick and choose where I will display the information (ie I do not disclose where I work in this class) however, I am 100% a supporter and my support is displayed on other sites.

    -Maria Barbagallo

  3. Maria,
    It’s important that you (and your organization) have a voice. It’s also important that you have beliefs and a mission. And it’s important that you use your voice, and your ears, to participate in the conversation on the topic of your beliefs. So it doesn’t matter to me what organization you work for. It matters that you respect others’ opinions and that you’re there, in social media, if that’s where some of the conversation is going on. Information and, as you say, humanity are your tools. Compelling post – nice work!

    • It is very important for us to have a voice. I share with many people where I work but I avoid it with school just because I do not feel like I have the experience to deal with people’s questions. At the end of the day everyone has a right to their own thoughts, feelings, and beliefs. I completely agree that people simply need to respect each other. The problem is that even though I believe in respecting everyone’s beliefs it does not necessarily mean the feeling will be mutual.

      Thank you for your feedback!

Leave a Reply

